Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Chocolate-flavoured Article March 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 4:43 pm

This article is not entirely written for those who loooove chocolate and are chocolate addicts like your dear writer. I guess it is a way to show you that in a few centuries, Chocolate has become one of the most popular food types and flavours in the entire world! ‘Chocolate is in the air’ 😀

In fact, chocolate has quickly become a ‘need’ for me and I could not live without it anymore, even if I know a few rebels who do not really like it. If cacao had not been cultivated and it had not been spread throughout Europe in the 16th century, I would not be the girl I am today 😀

Moreover, gifts made of chocolate molded into different shapes have become traditional on certain holidays now! Right now we can see that Easter will be here soon as we see the ‘phenomenon’ when we go to the supermarket… And it is the opportunity to find chocolate bunnies, bells, eggs, etc… From hot chocolate or chocolate bars to chocolate fountains to serve dessert fondue for instance, dark, milk and white chocolate are everywhere indeed!

Nevertheless, making and sculpting chocolate has become a real art… In Barcelona for example, you can find many museums, but there is an original one as well! Beware, chocolate addicts! This precise museum is dedicated to chocolate! Food museums are big in Spain in fact, as there is also a ham museum in Madrid 😀 Barcelona is not really known for its chocolate, but that is just the beginning of the museum weirdness!

The Museu de la Xocolata (‘chocolate’ in Catalan) proposes to tell you everything about the History of Chocolate and its origins, revealing secrets and famous recipes! And for your information, people can taste chocolate at the end 😀 This museum is not only dedicated to adults, because children can have access to numerous games and discover more about this food. What really caught my attention is not this Spanish museum in itself, because I have visited the Cluizel Chocolate Factory in Normandy and it was truly interesting, I have learnt everything about the discovery and use of chocolate there actually (besides, I had the opportunity to taste chocolate at the end of the exhibition too :p… ). But in this Barcelona museum, a huge exhibition takes place: little and great chocolate sculptures were made and can be seen there, like Don Quijote, Salvador Dali, Lucky Luke, Disney animated characters or famous buildings… Chocolate likeness of Ronaldinho and Messi even greet you at the entrance!

The Museu de la Xocolata was created in 2000 and is now very popular! The idea is original, the entry fee is not expensive, and who do not like chocolate?! 😀

 

 

 

10 Responses to “Chocolate-flavoured Article”

  1. deb1708 Says:

    this is a delicious post!!!!!
    As I am chocaholic, I will only tell you that yoour post is great
    I went to a chocolate exhibition and I saw how some “choco” artists could make a stunning work with only chocolate;
    Your post is mouth-watering!!

    • thalounette Says:

      Hihi! I was hoping you would like this article! I hit the bull’s eye 😀
      Have you seen my next article on the Salon du Chocolat and its beautiful chocolate dresses? I guess you will like the article too!
      It’s crazy to see what chocolate makers can create with this delicious food! Even if that’s sad chocolate doesn’t like hot and cold temperatures…

      • ihssene Says:

        yeah..i saw your article about the salon du chocolat…tha’s wonderful and delicious…this article is excellent!!
        i am a chocaholic….i don’t know if i will go to Catalan but Belgium is next us…it’s easier to have a big box of chocolate…Belgium is the country of chocolate. There exist lot of label as” leonidas”, “babelutte”…

      • deb1708 Says:

        yes you did thalie. lol
        I read your other article. I’d rather eating chocolate than wearing it. ^_^

  2. Romain Says:

    You’re a girl like me Choupi (except I’m not a girl): you’re a chocolate addict.

    And you speak about my favourite town in the whole world: Barcelone. And for your information, dear readers, I gave Thalie instructions so that she might create this article. Consequences: Thank you choupin (applause).

    This is so marvellous when I can see the Sagrada Familia, the Gaudi’s work, in chocolate.

    And who are these rebels who don’t like chocolate? They should be banished. Thank you to 16th century people who discovered chocolate: we set us all free.

    • thalounette Says:

      I have never been to Barcelona but when I discovered that you could visit a ham museum, I was hilarious and wanted to go there right away 😀
      Thank you for telling me about the Museu de la Xocolata Romain! You have to take pictures next time you visit it!

  3. Brian Says:

    Willy Wonka, Willy Wonka, the amazing chocolate chief!!!
    I’m sure Kevin sang it all the time you were writing this article 😀

    • thalounette Says:

      Ohhhh I had forgotten about Willy Wonka and his chocolate factory!! Roald Dahl wrote a great story!
      I like the beginning of the movie, when we discover that Willy Wonka built a huge chocolate palace for a Sultan 😀

  4. thalounette Says:

    I can see that there are many chocolate lovers on this blog 😀
    Brian will feel lonely indeed!
    It’s true that Barcelona is far away compared to Belgium, and I know Leonidas well enough to say that those chocolates are great hihi! The ham museum in Barcelona does not interest you Ihssene? 😀

  5. davelecteur Says:

    I go through chocolate phases. I think the more I have, the more I want, so I’m lucky just not to be in the habit of always buying it. Because when I do.. it seems to disappear and I don’t know where to. Particularly Milka Tendre au Lait or Caramel…
    I went to the chocolate museum in Cologne and it was really cool! You could go into a mini greenhouse-rainforest where you could see cocoa plants growing, and in the end you could see chocolate being made and then taste it. The cool thing was, they had built an entire mini factory but put glass windows in the sides of all their machines, so you could see inside the machines that churn the cocoa butter, shape the chocolate, etc. etc.

    – cacao –> cocoa (pronounced “coco”)
    – who *does* not like chocolate?

    (sorry very minor corrections, probably nothing you didn’t know already)


Leave a Reply

