Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Bacon Cookies March 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 2:44 pm

 

This is a huge thank you to my dear friend who is seriously following and reading my blog every week, even if she has difficulties when it comes to dealing with ram testicles and baby mice wine… I understand her by the way 😀 My friend created cookies last week… in which… guess what? In which she put bacon! 😀 She sent me an email a few days ago, telling me everything and sending me pictures. She told me that the green cookies I had made were really funny and then, she wanted to create strange cookies herself! As I had already made green cookies, she had decided to make savoury ones. And in fact, she took what she had in her fridge – eggs, butter and bacon actually – and made a recipe out of them!

I was thinking about stealing her recipe in order to discover the real taste of Bacon Cookies when she told me it was a German recipe she discovered last year when she was in Bavaria! But she changed it because she added chocolate chips and maple glaze! Yummyyy! I love the chocolate-bacon combo idea! It sounds awesome! And I also like the idea of a glaze on a cookie…

Ingredients for cookies:

5 Slices Bacon, cut into small pieces

2 Cups Flour

1/2 Cup Butter, chilled

1 Egg

1 Cup Chocolate Chips

1 Pinch Salt

3 Tablespoons Heavy Cream

1 Pinch Black Pepper

1 Beaten Egg Yolk

Ingredients for glaze:

4 Tablespoons Butter

4 Tablespoons Maple Syrup

1 Cup confectioner’s sugar

Fry bacon pieces in a large skillet over medium heat until crispy. Remove with a slotted spoon to paper towels, and let bacon cool completely.

Into a large mixing bowl, place flour, butter, egg, chocolate chips and salt and heavy cream… Using the mixer’s hook attachment, mix the contents of the bowl together until combined. Then, transfer the dough to the counter and quickly mix with your hands. Knead in cooled bacon pieces and pepper. Roll up the dough into a log. Wrap in aluminum foil and refrigerate for two hours, until the dough is firm.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Remove foil, cut dough roll into slices (not too thin), and place slices on greased baking sheet. Brush each slice with beaten egg yolk. Bake in a preheated oven for 15 minutes approximately, until cookies are brown. Remove from the oven and let them cool on a wire rack, until cooled completely.

While cookies cool, combine butter and maple syrup in a small sauce pan and whisk until butter has melted and liquids are well-combined. Whisk in confectioner’s sugar. Drizzle warm glaze over cooled cookies. Allow glaze to set completely before packaging.

I am a believer of Everything Is Better With Bacon, and even if this recipe sounds a little peculiar, I find the idea excellent!!

I have been dreaming about those cookies and really wonder how they taste like… Unfortunately, the South of France is a bit too far away in order to taste those marvellous cookies. Don’t worry my dear, I will come and visit you, and you will have the opportunity to make them again hihi! 😀

Anyway, thank you for this unusual recipe miss!

 

9 Responses to “Bacon Cookies”

  1. Brian Says:

    It’s quite an interesting idea and I’d love to try them. So here’s a (wonderful??) idea I’ve just had. What about we make some purple bacon cookies when you come home in April?

  2. thalounette Says:

    Ohhh why not! We could try and and make them ourselves and it doesn’t seem horrible to me – like some people would think… – to make them purple 😀
    The cookies she has make look great! I am so glad she tried them and enjoyed them!
    I mean, I love the salty/sweet combo and I think bacon would add a lot of that saltiness I like.

  3. judumour Says:

    hum… I love cookies… i love bacon…
    I’m not crazy enough to like them both… at the same time! or maybe i’m not english enough tastewise!
    anyway, i’m sure some people will like to try those…. (good luck, ô you, brave people!)

  4. thalounette Says:

    Do you think that it’s crazy to mix bacon and cookies Juju? 😀
    To my mind, the idea is funny and I like it… I guess I find it original and new in fact!
    The picture makes me want to eat bacon cookies! Do you think my brain has a problem? 😀
    I will try these cookies as soon as my homeworks will be done!

  5. Léa Says:

    They remind me of scones, well from the picture! I love scones, I have them with an English breakfast (rashers, sausages, fried eggs, baked beans, potatoe waffles… mmmmm even wrtiting about it makes me want to have one right know!!!) but I don’t know about the combination chocolate and pork… Seems pretty weird to me. I like them both… but mixing them is another story…
    You crazy/funny people making purple bacon cookies!!! I have to laugh!!! Would love to try them though!

  6. thalounette Says:

    English breakfast is the best breakfast you can have! Yummyy!
    Do you think that if I bring Bacon Cookies to your house, you would not taste them? They are interesting to eat to my mind 😀
    Tell me about the green cookies, have you made them yet? I am making regular cookies tomorrow if you prefer :p

  7. Léa Says:

    I would definitely try those bacon cookies!! Unfortunately, I didn’t find any green food coloring… So I couldn’t make any special St Patrick’s cookies… I was very disappointed with myself… Hopefully, I’ll bake them for another occasion!!!

  8. thalounette Says:

    Ahah! I made you swear and you will have to taste those bacon cookies Léa!
    I don’t understand why you found no food colouring…
    My first guess would be that everybody saw my video and needed to make green cookies as soon as possible, leading to a shortage of food colouring!! Hihi!

  9. davelecteur Says:

    lol Thalie. Why not make green bacon cookies as soon as the food colouring shortage is over?

    Bacon is great with loads of things. It adds that salty element if you haven’t already got something salty in the recipe. One thing I love to do is take Raman noodles (you know, Chinese/Japanese instant noodles) and cook them, then put them in bowl on top of pak choi (chinese green leaf), then on top put little bacon pieces and a boiled/friend egg. That’s a meal!


Leave a Reply

