Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Nori… March 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — caroschm @ 11:33 pm

You surely know about Nori…  don’t you?

It is not a new phonetic consonnant…

It is neither the name of a Hindi pop music group.

Try to guess what it could be.

Look this picture below :

You are right: nori is the purplish-black seaweed wrapped around the fish and the rice in sushi.

Sea lettuce, dried porphyra, dulse, carraggeenan,… are not the disgusting seaweeds you can see on more on more atlantics beaches. Not at all : they are the new exotic, trendy ingredients you can find or use in new French cuisine.

Seaweeds have health benefits. They are used as food additives or emulsifiers like Agar agar. They are also rich in calcium and magnesium, they are very nutritious, full of proteins, B12 vitamines,….

I find them in organic shops. I love to do the traditional Japanese miso soup with dried wakame, this thin and deep green seaweed.

But today I would to share a delicious seaweed recipe with you : I promise you will completely forget you are prejudiced against seaweed food:


Simply Seaweed Salad

Ingredients:

2 cups arame or hijiki (seaweed cut into thin strips)

1 L water

1 cup cucumber, quartered and chopped

1/2 cup green chopped onion

1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley,

2 tablespoon of toasted sesame or extra virgin olive oil

julienned or shredded carrots,

lemon juice

tamari

Rinse the seaweed well.

Place seaweed and water in a small pot and bring to a boil for

5 minutes then  turn off the heat and let the mixture soak for 2-3 hours.

Drain and place in large mixing bowl.

Add all ingredients to the seaweed and toss well. This salad last days

in the fridge!!!

 

18 Responses to “Nori…”

  1. deb1708 Says:

    indeed I know what was a nori.
    your seaweed salad is very appealing…and it surely is full of vitamines.

  2. thalounette Says:

    Hiiiiii sushi, nori, maki, futomaki!! I am crazy about it!

    • ihssene Says:

      Me too!!! I want really to go to a japanese restaurant for tasting everything…! I tried once to make maki at home…i made big, i think too big maki…not so bad. I prefer going to japanese restaurant!

  3. thalounette Says:

    So sad it is so expensaive to buy some… I have learnt to make them myself but don’t make them really often…

  4. thalounette Says:

    expensive*

  5. Lydie Says:

    Yes you are right Thalie, it’s too expensive for a such little food. I enjoy sushi, maki … and so on. Can we make sweet makies, as dessert ?

    • thalounette Says:

      And I don’t why it’s too expensive! I know good fish costs a lot, and people who prepare this kind of food are spending their whole life improving themselves! Nonetheless, that’s unfair because I cannot afford to eat maki and sushi often…

      In cookbooks and on the Internet, you can find maki made of fruits or chocolate Lydie! For example, you can make Mango-Pear Sushi with Pomegranate-Blueberry Wasabi… I am only writting those words and I salivate already… Damn sweet tooth 😀 Anyway I like the idea!

  6. soizicleg Says:

    Today i have tasted crispy and salty seaweed with Amandine (she knows a lot about korean food!) first of all, the salty taste was pleasant but the seawood make me think about spinach!

  7. thalounette Says:

    You tasted seaweed? Like when we eat crisps? Or was it in a salad or in a soup?

  8. Judumour Says:

    I can’t wait to try every single dish that you present in this blog!!! i mean.. it would only be fair to be able to taste them, when really all of this is so mouth-watering (cf miss Rivens who once used this word that i find funny!!)

  9. thalounette Says:

    Lol! You are the one leaving for Portland at the end of the month 😀 Thalie and her dishes will be left all by herself while you will be eating in Burger King or Big Boy mfff! In fact, everybody is leaving… I count on you all to send me postcards!
    Those biscuits are easy peasy to make Ju! Really, even you 😀
    I have to go to the supermarket in a few days – as the fridge is nearly empty again! – I will buy this box, and you could come to my place to make them (while working on ‘Autoformation’ at the same time of course 😮 ) if you want!

  10. aventa Says:

    It’s really easy to make kimbap/makis (Koreans and Japaneses are fighting to know who have created it XD) but it’s a lillte bit long for sure ! But it’s less expensive and better !

    Seaweeds are so good ! In soup, for makis, or alone !

    It’s a shame that French don’t use this fantastic and healthy product !

  11. thalounette Says:

    And do you know who created kimbap/makis first Amandine? 😀
    Less expensive, that’s for sure, and you can put everything you want in it hmmm!! I love to make sesame and salmon makis or surimi/mayonnaise, ohhh there’s so many I like 😀

  12. davelecteur Says:

    Mmmm seaweed. Tasty stuff, though it tends to smell a bit “fishy”, which might put some people off. In Hong Kong my schoolmates often used to have seaweed as a snack a bit like chips. It was dried, cut into strips, and packaged in a thin plastic film. I don’t know if I ever bought it myself, but I did enjoy stealing pieces from my friends 😛
    I really need to take the time to make all these different things that you’re posting! I’ll keep them in mind next time I get the urge to randomly create something in the kitchen. By the way, where would you buy these ingredients in Lille? I know the Chinese shop in Wazemmes, but a few of these ingredients seem more Japanese than Chinese. Could you tell me what tamari is?

    A couple of English tips:
    – For your sentence “It is neither the name of…” you have to say “NOR IS IT the name of a Hindi pop music group”. You can use neither, but you have to combine this sentence with the sentence before: “It is neither a new phonetic consonant, nor is it the name of a Hindi pop group”
    – Something’s missing in “Look this picture below”

    Thanks for the recipe!
    D

    • carolille Says:

      Thanks for your comments and tips. Sorry but I will not have time to correct the post. It is night and day now.
      I usually find seaweeds in an organic shop… not in Lille (“Saveurs et saisons” Sainghin en Mélantois it is near Lille 1 . You may find some at the same kind of shop rue Solférino near l’église du Sacré Coeur (Vauban direction) The name is “Label vie” I think.
      Tamari is “naturally brewed soy sauce” (it written on the bottle) means it is only soy without sugar or other things in.


Leave a Reply

