Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Smiley Faces, Happy Belly! February 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 5:41 pm

Last Monday was the day I had to go to the supermarket near my place… Indeed, as it was the holidays and I left Lille to go to Haute-Savoie (skiing rocks by the way!), my fridge was totally empty. Except for what was supposed to be Comté before I left the apartment and some mayonnaise and mustard, there was nothing edible in it!

Water, milk, pastas, yoghurts, we had to fill in our beautiful fridge – we are trying to reconstitute France with magnets we find in the Père Dodu chicken nuggets boxes 😀 . When I was walking through the sections, I found something really new for me! There was a funny box on display, this one:

My boyfriend is slowly beginning to cook, and as I love when we are cooking together, I thought that it was a nice wink! Thus, I bought this box in a flash, even if at first, I thought it was only meant for cooking with kids… But what the hell, everybody always say I behave like a four-year old 😀

I brought back home my precious discovery and this afternoon we made those shortbread biscuits together.

This is what is inside that box and what you need to have in your fridge before making those smiling faces:

 

When the biscuits are cooked, you have the opportunity to let them plain (even if they have a vanilla taste), or add melted chocolate and/or little sugar balls. What I loved the most was to put the multicoloured sugar balls on the biscuits… I have always found funny to decorate biscuits, cakes, etc…, and I like using those things; they have no real flavour of course, but it is edible decoration! 

Those were tasted and devoured at tea time one hour ago 😀 The box says that you can make twenty biscuits, and we made nineteen! There is only ten biscuits left already 😀 I even made one biscuit with only one eye, but he was the first one to disappear

All those little smiling faces, covered in chocolate are little bits of pleasure!

 

21 Responses to “Smiley Faces, Happy Belly!”

  1. deb1708 Says:

    yummyyyyyyy!
    you should bring some to universty. You will be very successful.

  2. thituylien Says:

    these biscuits look so cute! and yeah, you should definitely bring some at uni, my stomach is calling now…

  3. thalounette Says:

    Hihi! Thanks girls! They are cute AND delicious!
    When I saw the box, I had to make them 😀

  4. thalounette Says:

    Tere’s no more left I am sorry… I should bring some cupcakes I will make this week…

  5. Brian Says:

    i’m sure Kevin reacted like a four years-old too rigth? And I won’t ask who made the John Merrick faces at the right bottom of the picture I guess I already know 😀
    Anyway those look tasty even though they have kind of a Joker face.

  6. thalounette Says:

    Yes, last Saturday we were like kids having the right to cook their first biscuits with their Mum 😀
    The more sugar balls on the biscuits, the more chances it will be Kevin’s biscuits 😀
    I will buy you a box for your birthday in May and you will see how they taste delicious!

  7. Léa Says:

    HHoooo!! I’m definitly going to try them out!! Green cookies still have to be made and then I’ll start making them little faces!!

  8. thalounette Says:

    Hihi! I told you and I promised solemnly that the last articles were ‘cute’ my dear! Did I ever lie to you? 😀
    Try to make green cookies at your aunt’s! Because when you will come back, you will have not enough free time to make them, little busy bee!

  9. agathe02 Says:

    those smiling faces are just like saying : “eat us!” must be very difficult not to succumb to temptation…

  10. thalounette Says:

    They truly say ‘eat me’, don’t they? 😀
    I did not resist, and if I may tell you, I did not try to resist!

  11. Brian Says:

    Well, I’d rather go for a trip to Kyoto for my birthday but a box of those smiley faces is ok too I suppose. It was quite obvious which ones were Kevin’s by the way. The santa one is your’s I guess. Oh I just remembered something my father did when he was young and that’s really weird to me; he dips french paté in his coffee!! I’m not a coffee person so I don’t even imagine how it would taste but you are right? Would you dare give it a try?

  12. thalounette Says:

    You are already going to Canada in August! Anyway, I cannot buy such an expensive plane ticket Brian, you will have to wait 😀
    Which one is the Santa biscuit for you?

  13. thalounette Says:

    Oh pleeaase (Sheldon like)! Are you trying to challenge me bitch?! ‘Cause this is on!

  14. Brian Says:

    For me the santa one is just above the spoon. And yeah this is a challenge. You have to do it now :D. But I’m a gentleman so I’ll hold you a bucket in case you react like I hope you will.

  15. thalounette Says:

    Hihi! The one with a beard? I made him you are right 😀 And this little fellow tasted really good!
    I say, bring it on bitch! We arrive at your place on the 3rd of April, make sure you have everything in your cupboard. Are you a real coward or will you try this challenge with me?
    Because it has been six months that you are saying you will break my dart record… And I don’t see that one coming 😀

  16. Brian Says:

    I gonna be a coward on this one sorry 😀 And it’s been seven mounth that I’m trying to beat you at darts not six…..

  17. Lyna Says:

    OMG! They’re so cute!!!! Why doesn’t I live in Lille , I’d waste my time in your kitchen and beg you to cook for me 🙂

  18. thalounette Says:

    They are, aren’t they? 😀 I fell in love when I saw the box hihi! And the biscuits I made are prettier than those on the box!
    You could beg me to leave Lille and come back to Paris perhaps 😀
    Do you remember when we cooked for the family I was staying with a few years ago in Weymouth?

  19. davelecteur Says:

    That poor cyclopean cookie, he must have led a life of seclusion from the other cookies before he was indiscriminately devoured.

  20. thalounette Says:

    This cookie was the most courageous cookie I had ever met… Rest in peace 😀


Leave a Reply

