Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

February 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — caroschm @ 5:12 pm

Some more about heirloom vegetables …

I love nettle soup. It is really a spring detox soup, and it is delicious !

Try it without fear,…but you need to find clean young nettles, …not along a busy motorway for example…

Ingredients:

500g potatoes
young nettles
butter
Kub Or (maggi…you know what I mean)
salt & pepper
4 tablespoons sour cream…less or more

Method:

Cook the peeled, chopped potatoes for 10 mins in salted water. Drain.

Wash & chop coarsely the nettles (Only pick the new, young tops,using gloves!)

Melt the butter in a saucepan, add the nettles and stew gently for a few minutes. Add the potatoes and heated stock, bring to the boil and simmer for 10 minutes or until tender.

When all is soft, cool slightly & purée in a blender, adding seasoning and the sour cream.

See the original recipe HERE :

http://www.nettles.org.uk/nettles/activities/nettlesoup.asp

Other heirloom vegetables

RUTABAGA (cultivated in parks and eaten during the Second World War indoor Paris)

JERUSALEM ARTICHOKES (TOPINAMBOURS)

Barbentane’s eggplants (or aubergines)

 

13 Responses to “”

  1. thalounette Says:

    Are you making your own nettle soup?
    ‘Kub Or (maggi…you know what I mean)’ is ‘stock cube’ Caro 🙂
    Thank you for the pictures by the way!

  2. agathe02 Says:

    I’m a great fan of soups, but had never heard about nettle soup! it must be weird psychologically to eat it… Must be quite…”stinging” and “piquant”? Is it successful with kids? 😛

  3. Romain Says:

    You better stop with your recipes. I’m hungry because of you. Naughty girl but I forgive you. I want my red muffins. Thalie is the ice on the cake.

    We love U Talhounette and your cook. Go on, I want to know the next articles.

  4. A nettle soup is very surprising ! I didn’t know that. There are a lot of nettles in my garden and I’ll try this recipe.
    I would like to make my contribution to this recipe and I fortunately have, in my pictures collection, an accessory which could complete the recipe. I’ll post it.

  5. aventa Says:

    When i was a child my cousin have bring me and my sister on a kind of wood to pick nettlles to do a soup. But this day i was wearing a shorts and a T-shirt.
    From this day i don’t wanna hear “neettles soup” i have been traumatized !! 🙂 During 2 days i was covered of nettles spots !

    But i looks appetizing !

  6. thalounette Says:

    I especially know the pinprick of stinging nettles…


Leave a Reply

