Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

The World Through Green-Coloured Glasses February 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 5:04 pm

Dear reader,

I am aware that those last weeks you endured the sight and reading of weird and sometimes disgusting dishes… I am sorry but I felt you had to know… And I truly believe that it contributes to open your mind to other – and very different – cultures.

I realize that my blog is a great opportunity to write in English on the one hand, but to put the new things I am learning in Multimedia class into practice every week on the other hand.

Indeed, in nearly a month, it will be Saint Patrick’s Day! If you want to learn more about it: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saint_Patrick%27s_Day . Even the Chicago River is dyed green each year for the Saint Patrick’s Day celebration 😀 Then, in honour of this special day, I created funny cookies and I use the adjective ‘funny’ because those cookies will be green and because we had enough ‘peculiar’ food for the moment. Yes, yes, those recipes are always in the prospect of being eaten and that is why today is only about funny and new 😀

This article will be about another recipe then, but a special one actually… Green cookies! As you already know, I have got a sweet tooth. I decided to create funny cookies: green, white and gold for the Irish colours! I mean green with the food colouring, white chocolate chips, and orange… I was missing that one, but you will see what came up as orange 😀

The new part is not only inside the cookies recipe, but also because my recipe was shot. Can I really use this term? I am not a real filmmaker and screenwriter but I wanted to use the rudiments learnt in Multimedia class, and at the same time, I wanted to produce a little something for this dear blog… Please, follow conscientiously this recipe.

This is a recipe for 6 people, or two hungry stomachs…

The ingredients:

  • 1 Egg
  • 100g Sugar
  • 75g Melted Butter
  • 200g Flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • Food Colouring
  • White Chocolate Chips
  • Orange Smarties

How to make these beautiful cookies?
Beat the egg and add sugar. Then, add melted butter. Mix everything and add the other ingredients – that is to say flour, baking powder, and food colouring afterwards…
With a tablespoon, put some dough on the plate. Don’t forget to put space between them, because they will rise.
Bake in preheated oven (220°C) for about ten minutes. As soon as they seem cooked, take them and let them cool on a wire rack. Enjoy these green cookies!

You can follow the instructions thanks to this video I made. Thank you Movie Maker!

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xc9wrg_green-cookies_creation

 

13 Responses to “The World Through Green-Coloured Glasses”

  1. Romain Says:

    An essential book about recipes: the Thalie’s book: “Cooking for the dummys”. And I’m very bat at cook. But now, I will know make green cookies thanks to you. Thanks a lot my dear.

    Irish people are proud of you, proud about their colours. You are the new cooker star instead of Maïté and Joel Rebluchon. I put down a red carpet on the street just for you and your recipes. Bree Van de Kamp is very much afraid that you are better than her.

    Irland: a singular place, one of most beautiful countries in this world.

    I’m crazy about your green cookies. Can you bring me at work? (Just for me).

    • thalounette Says:

      Ah ah! If I had time and were good enough, I would love to write cookery books like Bree Van de Kamp or Jamie Oliver (nice references, don’t you think? 😀 )
      I love Ireland and I don’t really know if this recipe is so original… Indeed, they colour and dye everything in green when it is Saint Patrick’s Day 😀
      I loooove Ireland, it is such a great country, with beautiful landscapes and fantastic people! And as I have an Irish bestfriend, I hit the nail on the head!
      As soon as I have time, I will bring some green cookies at work, especially for you my dear! Or perhaps red muffins, or blue crepes… I still don’t know but you will see… 😀

  2. Brian Says:

    hey your video’s nice. You did it by yourself?
    I’m one lucky bastard you know – I tasted those fabulous cookies and trust me that was gooooooooooood!!!
    Oh nice song by the way, it’s Alela Diane right?

    • thalounette Says:

      Thank you Brian! We learnt to create videos thanks to Movie Maker in Multimedia class! I confess it took me quite some time to figure out how everything worked actually, but thank you for letting me borrow your computer 🙂 Mine is an old thing and you can only use Microsoft Word with it 😀
      Hiiiii!! We can make weird cupcakes with the food colouring next time I come! 😀 What do you think?

  3. thalounette Says:

    Ohhh yes the song is ‘Oh my mama!’, and it is Alela Diane! Do you know her?
    Kevin made me discover this singer, and I love her songs 😀
    I wanted to put this lovely song from ‘The Last of the Mohicans’ but it did not really fit with the ‘cooking lesson’ 😀

  4. Brian Says:

    It’s on for the weird cupcake thing. Yeah I know this singer and I love her songs. I think it’s also Kevin who made me discover her.
    I was wondering, does this food colouring taste anything or not? ’cause we could make quite a lot of funny stuffs. I guess it also exists in different colours?

  5. Léa Says:

    Thaaaaaalllllllliiiiieeeee!!!
    St Paddy’s cookies!!!! Your brilliant!!! Yooohooo!! A recipe I will have to honour by trying it out!!! The video is brilliant!! I’ll be advertising it on facebook on D Day!!! (of course if you’re ok with that?!) You’re great Thalie, the best!!

    • thalounette Says:

      Hiiiiiii Léa! We are on the Internet at the same time!! Shhh, I am supposed to work but there is nothing to do here and now…
      Do you like my recipe? You told me once that they created green Guinness especially for Saint Patrick’s Day and I thought ‘Hey, green Guinness… Hey green cookies 😀 ‘ This is a funny association of ideas, like Sheldon and his luminous fish in The Big Bang Theory 😀
      Oh yeeesss! Please, do! If you put my video on facebook, many friends of yours will be able to discover and make those green cookies!

  6. thalounette Says:

    Yeaahh!! Are you more a cupcake or a cookie person Brian? 😀 We will make something truly weird I promise!
    Kevin has good taste, hasn’t he? 😀
    I have bought three little bottles of food colouring: blue, red and yellow… I guess they sell you primary colours, and then you can create the colour you want (sky-blue, purple, pink, and so on for instance!)

  7. thalounette Says:

    Will you try those green cookies guys?

  8. Brian Says:

    To be honest I just want to make something purple. I have such a nice memory of the day we made the candy cake I don’t really care what we’ll cook. Maybe cupcakes since we already tasted / tested (not very proud of this one again sorry) the cookies?
    Oh you like The Big Bang Theory? I have just finished the last episode of seaon 03 last night and I though of you. Sheldon makes a swiss recipe that looks like a weird cheesy omelette with lot a vegetables it it. But sorry I don’t remember the name… It was a german one for sure but that’s the best I can give you now.

  9. thalounette Says:

    Something purple? Purple cupcakes? That is a great idea Brian!
    We had so much fun cooking this candy cake, I think we can do better with purple cupcakes (using food colouring is really funny, you will see 😀 )!
    I have begun season 3 and I can’t wait to watch the episode you are talking about! This will be the subject of a coming article maybe 😀

  10. davelecteur Says:

    Oops I missed this post of yours Thalie, and you made the video and everything! I’m impressed, it was high quality and all!
    Were you tempted to make these again for St Paddy’s? Did you do anything especially Irish last wednesday? I followed the rules and got quite drunk in an Irish bar, while occasionally wearing a Guinness hat 😛
    p.s. can you come for a drink with the FLE students next Thursday after 16:00, when their final meeting has taken place?


Leave a Reply

