Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Happy birthday …Sauerkraut of the sea February 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — caroschm @ 9:34 pm

You probably all still know about the original Alsatian Sauerkraut: it is sour white cabbage cut in very thin slices, cooked and served with smoked meat (often pork), sausages and potatoes. Do you know that the fish Sauerkraut recipe, either called “Sauerkraut of the sea” was created exactly 40 years ago, the 14th January 1970? As I was born 5 days later, I could not miss this birthday. Imagine, I was almost twin with my favourite meal! Here is the little story: Guy-Pierre Baumann, an inspired chef, noticed that customers hated eating the traditional Alsatian Sauerkraut during the summer in Paris. One day he tried to serve sauerkrout in a new way by adding a special butter sauce. And there it was! At first it was considered as a heretic way to cook the venerable Alsatian vegetable. Finally Guy-Pierre Baumann was asked to buy the famous restaurant in Strasbourg near the Cathedral : the “Maison Kamerzell”. Now this delicate meal is very well considered and well known throughout almost all of the western world.Which fish are cooked then, you may certainly ask me? The original recipe uses halibut, salmon and smoked haddock. If you would like to know more about: just ask me…and take advantage of my 40 years of experiences.

 

3 Responses to “Happy birthday …Sauerkraut of the sea”

  1. thalounette Says:

    I learnt a new word today: ‘halibut’!
    I have never eaten sauerkraut however…

  2. caroline Says:

    Halibut was a new word for me either….
    One day maybe i will daaaare to invite you home…i have to think about it….very carefully…..

  3. thalounette Says:

    Oh, you can invite me whenever you want to! You will have many great Indian dishes to make me try in a few months 😀
    Did Pascale write the Christmas biscuits and gingerbread recipes for me?


Leave a Reply

