Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Those Icelandic are crazy! © January 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 8:05 pm

Brian’s comment in one of my last post made me think… Indeed, my friend had to learn Icelandic at Paris IV-Sorbonne as part of his Master! He told me that it was not easy many times but he never alluded to the Icelandic food before yesterday, on this precise blog!

Brian named different dishes Icelandic people use to eat, and I was very curious and at the same time intrigued by those weird names, referring to special ingredients…

Actually, I found out that they have a traditional dark and sweet rye bread in Iceland, and they cook a round and thin sort of bread for Christmas… Then so far, nothing seems strange in this country…

The names we are introduced to are really funny, I agree with Brian on this. Nevertheless, those words do not psychologically prepare you to the ‘appearance’, the ‘aspect’ of the food, and the ingredients that those dishes are made of. If we want to be strictly pragmatic, it is only meat, but really it is heads, testicles and whale’s fat… Do not get me wrong, I do not judge and I have lived in Reunion Island for fourteen years, where people eat pig’s feet and tail or chicken’s feet, but I never said I could eat that 😀 Perhaps if I am challenged… 😀

Let’s have a look on the dishes Brian talked about:
Svið: it is a whole grilled or boiled ram head, sometimes cured in lactic acid.

Súrsaðir hrútspungar: the testicles of rams pressed in blocks, boiled and cured in lactic acid.

Lifrarpylsa: Icelandic sheep liver sausage, it is a pudding made from liver and suet of sheep kneaded with rye flour and oats.

Yummyyyy!!

Don’t worry if you go to Iceland guys, the types of yoghurts you can find (like Skyr) seem perfectly edible! I am myself planning on going to Iceland on a trek and I know now that my food will be exclusively composed of bread and yoghurt 😀

Enjoy your meal!

 

22 Responses to “Those Icelandic are crazy! ©”

  1. Brian Says:

    ok, not cool at all to put the pictures!! Especially the last one it looks like a gremlin back when they all melt at the end of the second movie.
    I heard they have a unique bread they cook digging a hole near a hot spring and leave for several hours under the ground. I’d like to test that one some day.

    • thalounette Says:

      After reading your comment yesterday evening, I wrote this article and believe me, I only ate a yoghurt for dinner!
      I was so curious about those words – and their definitions… – that I HAD to read more about Icelandic food and to tell you everything about it 😀
      The thrid picture truly looks like Gremlins indeed! And no, I did not cry at the end of the first movie…
      I will make some research on this interesting bread Brian! When it will not be Multimedia class 😀

    • ihssene Says:

      Have you ever tried to make it at home? If you want to make it, just call me!! I will help you to make it and eat it! lol

      • Thalounette Says:

        Never! But if you want to create a weird recipe and try it at my place on a Sunday afternoon Ihssene, why not!
        We will have to eat the dish of course 😀

      • ihssene Says:

        Alright! i note it…i won’t forget it, dudde!

  2. Léa Says:

    OOOhhh… Brian is totally right, the names of the dishes would have done, we didn’t need the pictures… I’m going to have them in my head all day now!
    But I’d say these meals are eaten very occasionally. Wherever you go you find food that seems weird to us now but wasn’t at a certain stage. People ate what they had, and didn’t waste anything. Not like today. My mom is always telling me about the times when she used to eat “crew beans” (I don’t know if that’s the way one writes it, I’ll ask her how to spell it and let you know). There pig’s trotters… (feet!). She used to eat them when she went to Cork when she was a kid as a treat (what a treat!!) and then play with the bones on the street (sort of marbles one can say) with her brothers! See, absolutely no waste at the time!! Even for toys!!

    • Léa Says:

      ooops made a mistake “they are pig’s trotters” sorry…!
      I’m sure they are some others but can’t spot them right now!

    • thalounette Says:

      Thank you for correcting yourself Léa!
      I am really sorry for your poor stomach but you should not read my blog on the morning after breakfast 😀
      I guess Icelandic people do not eat those dishes everyday and this food is even meant for important celebrations…
      Hey, my grandfather used to spend afternoons ‘gnawing’ pig’s trotters! No waste at that time…

  3. kev1 Says:

    I just read another of your articles, the one about kobe beef, and I really felt like eating steaks afterwards!!
    I sure didn’t feel like eating anything after reading this one… :$

    I can’t say which of these 3 “meals” seems to be the most awful!
    And the pictures sure won’t help me decide either!!! (and Léa is right, it was kinda gross to go and search for these on the web by the way :p)

    Visually, I’d say the Súrsaðir hrútspungar doesn’t seem that bad… Of course once you know what it is made of you’re almost bound to pick up the Lifrarpylsa (at least I know I am).

    I’ve been thinking, hoping I’d find something as disgusting as these icelandic meals, but I couldn’t come up with anything.

    I’d like to know if anyone reading this would be tempted to give any of these a try?
    How about trying one of them for money? Which one? How much? WHY?!?!?!

  4. Thalounette Says:

    Nobody noticed the pun in the title!

  5. Thalounette Says:

    Brian, I discovered that you were right about this Icelandic bread:
    Rúgbrauð, which is rye bread, is traditionally baked for a long time at a low temperature in the ground near hot springs (in steam boxes), it gives the bread its dark colour…

    How does it taste like?
    That would be great to eat a piece of hot-spring bread!

  6. Brian Says:

    I know I was right, Brian is always right that’s why everybody loves him 😀
    If I had kept my Icelandic class at the second semester, I would have tasted it; our teacher promised he would bring some, but a piece of bread is not good enough for me to stay. I’ll ask people who stayed how it was.

  7. thalounette Says:

    Yeah we love you Brian!! (You believed it, did you? 😀 )
    You would have tasted this rye bread, cooked in a ground near hot springs? Greeeeaaaaat!!! Your teacher will bring some during your Icelandic class? Nice man! 😀
    Tell me when and where is your class taking place and I will go and talk to this Icelandic guy 😀 How on earth are they able to put boiled testicles pressed in blocks in their mouth?

  8. thalounette Says:

    How do you say ‘I love eating weird things’ in Icelandic? 😀

    • Brian Says:

      Grudan ait Overchën…. Ok I have no idea, but I don’t even know how you say “hello”.

      • thalounette Says:

        I guess you have only memorized the funny words!
        Anyway, you know that if you go to Iceland one day, never eat in a restaurant, or think that you are invincible and want try traditional dishes absolutely 😀

  9. soizicleg Says:

    OOOOOOOOOOOH! It’s just…. frightening!!!! Ram testicles???? I coudn’t eat that, it’s psychologically impossible! About the chiken feet, Thalie, my grandmother put them in the soup, it could seems strange i know… but i never ate better soup!

    • thalounette Says:

      Hihi! It is funny to see that even if different adjectives are used to qualify this article and these dishes, the idea is basically the same!
      I am truly repulsed by the testicles dish – I don’t know if it is psychological but I don’t think testicles are meant for that 😀
      Aaahhhh somebody else’s grandparent… And, are you eating/tasting those feet, or is it just to give some flavour (like adding a stock cube for instance)?

  10. thalounette Says:

    I have forgotten about Hákarl! It is Icelandic fermented shark: this shark has been cured with a fermentation process and hung to dry for five months!

  11. Brian Says:

    How can you eat shark!! They eat everything they find, they are real sea trash can. There is no way there meat is healthy after eating so much plastic, cadavers, iron stuffs and all (and sometimes retarded surfers who still tried their luck though there was a big red sign writen “sharks are going to eat you if you go swim in there!!!”). Though I guess that we could say that for every fish…

  12. thalounette Says:

    And Hákarl has such a taste that many Icelandic peolpe never eat it 😀
    This dish really scares me… I would prefer to eat fish fingers!
    Don’t forget Brian, there are plenty of good fish in the sea 😀

  13. thalounette Says:

    My brother is a retarded surfer 😀 My mum was so worried every time he was going surfing when we were living in Reunion Island!


Leave a Reply

