Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Cheesecake January 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 4:55 pm

Dear reader,

I quote: ‘I don’t know about you guys but to me cheesecake is something good, right? Providing you like it, I hear you, but I mean it’s usually made of nice ingredients (and by that I mean chocolate, vanilla, chocolate, strawberries, chocolate or chocolate :p). Now, some people out there, for some reason, decided that this wasn’t enough and they ruined it all (the cheesecake spirit that is) by getting rid of all these lovely ingredients and replacing them with salmon, courgettes, and so on…’ This interesting comment was written on 29th November 2009 by Kevin – it has been two months today already. I did not put this post aside and I wanted to find a way to convince Kevin in fact! Indeed, like everybody, we have different points of view and I cannot defend the ‘cheesecake spirit’, as Kevin names it, because I am not a real big fan of cheesecakes… Anyway, I wanted to show him that I could create a cheesecake that would not be a chocolate, lemon or strawberry flavoured cheesecake, but a savoury one! Kevin’s comment made me react and I did not forget it. That is why I promised myself to invent a savoury cheesecake, in order to prove that with great ingredients, everything can be good!

I confess that I made a little ‘investigation’ before gathering the ideas I had and it appeared that people created strange cheesecakes: Smoked Salmon and Boursin, Pumpkin and Spices, Zucchini and Sesame… Puzzling… Indeed, if we look closely, the dictionary says that a cheesecake is a ‘dessert consisting of a topping made of soft, fresh cheese on a base made from biscuit, pastry or sponge’. Thus, it implies that a cheesecake is supposed to be sweet. I mean, cheesecakes are normally desserts but cakes are also supposed to be desserts and nevertheless, consumers can taste Zucchini and Chocolate Cake or savoury cakes now; the one I enjoy to cook and taste is Mozzarella, Basil and Tomatoes Cake! We have to call our ideas and definitions into question.

The recipe I made to convince Kevin is for four persons and as soon as you will have tasted it, you will change your mind about desserts that are turned into savoury dishes!

PESTO AND SUN-DRIED TOMATOES CHEESECAKE

200g fresh goat milk cheese

1 big egg

Juice from half a lemon

Salt and pepper

Some sun-dried tomatoes

15 TUC paprika (crackers)

4 teaspoons red pesto

Preheat the oven 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Using a wooden spoon, beat the fresh goat milk cheese, the egg and the lemon juice in a bowl. Add some sun-dried tomatoes you first cut to pieces, and salt and pepper: it gives great flavour! Beat until well combined.

In another bowl, crush the Paprika crackers with red pesto until smooth. Grease the moulds and press the pesto mixture into the bottom of each little mould – if they are silicone moulds, no need to grease. Then, pour the batter into the moulds. Advice of the chef: For this peculiar recipe, use little moulds, like muffin moulds in silicone, or little rum baba moulds.

Bake in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes. It is difficult to judge when it is done cooking however… Let them cool and refrigerate for two hours at least, without turning them out of their moulds. Turn the cheesecakes out and serve.

Tadaaammm, you have baby cheesecakes! And at the first bite, you understand that it is not sweet at all 😀 As you see, I used funny little moulds! They are meant to cook rum baba normally, but what the heck, we are here to experiment, even moulds! I thought it was less funny to have an original cheesecake in a normal 9 inch springform mould…

Last but not least, this article was also the opportunity to link two classes. Did you notice the pictures illustrating my recipe? This is the first article in which I put pictures I modified thanks to Paint and I would like to thank my Multimedia teacher – she reads this blog and I think she will recognize herself – for the numerous things she already taught me 🙂

I truly hope you will try these cheesecakes, and appreciate them like I did! I am reconciled with the cheesecake spirit 😀 Anyway, don’t we say that it takes all sorts to make a world?

 

10 Responses to “Cheesecake”

  1. thalounette Says:

    If you don’t know what red pesto is, look there!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_pesto

  2. Brian Says:

    For me a dessert is something sweet and this is absolutely not sweet at all. I’m not saying it can’t be tasty and all, I’m sure I would like this receipe, but in no way this is a dessert.
    I have to try it though, it would make a nice starter 😀

  3. thalounette Says:

    Desserts should always be sweet of course! People make crazy experiences and create dishes you are afraid to even approach sometimes The cheesecake I made was not meant to be a dessert but to become a dish actually!
    You hate everything that has vegetables in it but I am sure you would love this cheesecake 😀

    • Brian Says:

      I don’t hate everything that has vegetables in it!! Remember I ate (should I make a lame play on words with hate and ate or do I just forget the idea?) your waterzoï (yeah I don’t know how you write that one).

  4. thalounette Says:

    You always say ‘I am not a rabbit’ 😀 But I did not mean a word of it, you ate Waterzooi!

  5. davelecteur Says:

    hehe I think I’ve tried a waterzooi, though I’m not sure I remember what it is now! is it possibly something to do with chicken?
    great post thalie, and great work with MS Paint! I used to use that application loads, but it’s so very limited! Try getting Paint.net (http://www.getpaint.net/download.html) which is free and I find much nicer to use than MS Paint. Sorry, geek moment. >:]

  6. thalounette Says:

    Waterzooi was really good, and everytime I go back to Evreux, I cook a nice and new dish 😀
    Yes! I have a great Multimedia teacher who made me download it!

    Some French blood and geeky on top of that… Looks like me 😀

  7. thalounette Says:

    By the way, wait for the next article… I have discovered (look at the tense, please! ) Movie Maker last week 😀

  8. davelecteur Says:

    hehe so are you going to make us a video now??

    umm.. sorry for the following! …
    because you said “last week”, it means you’ve defined a specific moment in the past for your verb. so in this case it would be “I discovered MM last week”. If you take away last week, “I have discovered MM” is what you want. There is a grey area in the middle, for example with a work like “recently” you could say both “I recently discovered // Recently, I have discovered”.
    This tense is tricky… and tricky to explain!

  9. thalounette Says:

    Yes, a video of a funny (and so goooood!) recipe 😀
    My computer won’t let me use Movie Maker for the moment, and in fact, I am only ‘allowed’ to surf on the Internet and type things on Microsoft Word… Bloody machine!


Leave a Reply

