Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Some like it hot November 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 7:47 pm

Good evening guys,

Yesterday, I was perusing my Cosmopolitan (no link with the drink at all 😀 ) while watching the pupils in detention. I had three Cosmopolitans to read because being a student in Lille 3 and a supervisor in a secondary school takes all my time those last weeks… Anyway, I took some time to read my women’s magazines, in which you can find ideas for presents and you discover the latest trend in fashion. It is not a gossip magazine and I also found great recipes in there. However, I am not trying to advertise for this magazine, but the pupils saw me reading it and none of them – even the more feminine girls – knew about Cosmo…

Anyhow, I am alluding to my favourite magazine because when I went through it, I discovered that Fauchon created new eclairs. Those last years, different sorts were invented, and pretty original ones! In a nutshell, they pushed forward the concept of ‘a long and iced cake with cream filling and icing’ – which is eaten cold as we all know and love experiencing – and they revolutionized the view of this cream puff! The one which triggered my attention is an eclair composed of raspberry and caramel called ‘hot dog’ (if you consider the picture below, it really looks like a hot dog doesn’t it?), but the great originality is that this eclair is meant to be eaten hot. It is the first eclair that has been imagined to be hot.

Since this one was brought to existence, Fauchon conceived some new recipes: Foie Gras and Strawberry Eclair, Foie Gras and Fig Eclair, Smoked Salmon and Mandarin Eclair, Chicken Curry and Coriander Eclair, Chicken and Red Pepper Eclair, Salmon and Peas Eclair, Black Truffle and Potato Eclair… And they are all hot! But I would say their ‘names’ can be quite disconcerting and curious.

The idea of creating a hot eclair is funny and interesting. It is truly a new way of seeing the ingredients; Mixing things that are supposed to be sweety and even playing with temperature is original. What I want to say is that we all tasted either cold soup or hot soup, we also ate bread in which we find olives, cheese, or seeds (there are so many recipes and mixing!), or bread in which there is chocolate chips, raisins or banana for example, but we never thought about turning a cold and sweet pastry into a hot and savoury one!

Furthermore, I noticed that the Alinéa brand is as adventurous in the food association as Fauchon! They made innovative and unusual mustards. Now, even condiments are inventive and those condiments bring new tastes into our plates. Mustard is not just mustard anymore. Alinéa came up with three ‘flavours’, transforming our vision of simple dressings. The first flavour is coconut-curry, and the second is saffron. Curry mixed with mayonnaise, or Coconut & Curry Chicken are recipes we find easily in Indian cuisine, and are more and more cooked by people. In addition, saffron is used a lot in the islands . Then, those flavours are not so bizarre to us… But the latest creation is Blackcurrant Mustard. At first, it can leave us astonished because fruits or vegetables as condiments are common (chutneys and pickles for instance) but I never saw the combination of mustard and fruit!

Who said magazines were not into freestyle? 😀

Since we’re talking about weird associations of ingredients, I have a dear friend (she will know I am talking about her when she reads this article 😀 ) who loves eating hot dogs! Ok, you’re right, this is neither weird, nor flabbergasting I admit, but what my friend does is that she spreads peanut butter on the bread and then she adds the sausage.

She keeps on telling me that if people would only try this ‘recipe’ of hers, these things would sell themselves like hot cakes!

And you, do you have strange food habits?

 

28 Responses to “Some like it hot”

  1. Lydie Says:

    Oh yeah I have a strange food habit. I enjoy “Mimolette” with strawberry jam or red wine with bread and camembert …

    It does’nt deal with soaking “tremper”. I remember a Canadian girl saying : ” I don’t understand why french people soak their slice of bread with nutella in the milk ! What are you gonna do with this sugar ? You’re gonna die !”

    It was so funny…

  2. Brian Says:

    I do something which most of the people I know find weird (but trust me they all agree what I do is awsome once they tasted it), I put chips in my sandwiches. It really makes them tastier and crispy. You can even try it with different flavour of chips, which really changes the taste of your sandwich. And Thalie, you know its great you do it all the time now 😀

  3. Thalounette Says:

    Lydie,
    Is Mimolette the orange type or Dutch cheese? I use it instead of gruyere or cheddar in my gratin Dauphinois or the cheese-topped dishes I cook: It adds colours and I find it tastier!
    I like your habit of associating cheese and fruit 😀 Indeed, when I was in Rouen one month ago, I tried in a restaurant ‘Camembert and apple crumble’ – because the name disconcerted me 😀 – and this starter was nice actually! Moreover, you lived in Reunion Island too, and you must have tried ‘fromage des plaines’ and ‘goyavier’ jam (little red fruit from Reunion Island) from ‘la Plaine des Palmistes’; I could not find a translation for those terms, but for people who did not experience food habits of Reunion Island, one of them is to eat cheese with jam as a desert 🙂

    • lydie Says:

      Yeah Thalie, the mimolette is orange. When I make a gratin I like mixing mimolette with another cheese like comté or emmental.
      Rouen, great I was born there. Where did you find exactly this restaurant ? I have to test it !!!

      • thalounette Says:

        I love cheese and when shopping on saturday, we discovered (and then ate) Gouda with cumin and Gouda with mustard: this last one seemed interesting but we don’t really taste the mustard, Gouda with cumin is exquisite!

  4. Thalounette Says:

    Hey Brian!
    I saw you taking two slices of bread, spreading mayonnaise on them, adding slices of ham and inserting crisps in the actual sandwich, I had never seen this before! And you know me, I had to try it – after making fun of you of course – and as a matter of fact, it is truly good! Crisps add new sensations when you chew… Now I am definitely in favour of those sandwiches!

  5. maeva1 Says:

    I love those mustard tube!!! Do you know where can I find them?
    About the eclairs, I´m a big fan of the combination foie gras with sweet stuff like figs or gingerbread, and i´m particulary attracted to the idea of Smoked Salmon and Mandarin Eclair, sounds yummy!!!

    • Thalounette Says:

      Good evening Maeva,
      I tried to search on the Web if those mustard were sold somewhere and… Nothing!
      Anyway, don’t be disappointed, because I sent an email to Cosmo, and I am hoping to get an answer for you 😉
      About those eclairs, I guess the price is different if you buy Foie Gras and Fig Eclair (expensive ingredients indeed) or Chicken Curry and Coriander Eclair (perhaps less expensive for students like us…). Nevertheless, it’s normally around 7 euros I would say 🙂

  6. Brian Says:

    Hey I just remembered I once tried a frapuccino lemon – hibiscus at Starbuck’s. That’s quite weird but not disgusting. There was also Green tea – hibiscus but honestly I was a bit scared to try it.
    Oh! my father wants me to tell you that in Belgium he used to dip salami and pâté in his cold coffee, he says it was great though I doubt it.

    • thalounette Says:

      Shame on you Brian! You have to have a vanilla frappuccino and a cinnamon roll, yummy!
      Hibiscus is a flower, in the future they will create hot chocolate with forget-me-nots if they are not stopped 😀
      I heard about cheese on a slice of bread that people dip in their coffee, but I did not lnow they dip cooked meat in it…

  7. agathe02 Says:

    Foie gras and strawberry or fig eclair, very good idea for the soon coming christmas meal, original way of eating foie gras. I’m gonna test it, but I may make it by myself because I guess Fauchon sells those eclairs quite expansive, doesn’t it?

    • thalounette Says:

      I was in Paris this week end and saw those eclairs… But I was to full to buy one 😦 Anyway, it is around 7 euros Agathe!

  8. Léa Says:

    OOOooo!!! must try that hot dog eclair one day! Don’t know about the sauces though, seem a bit weird to me… Will let my friend who loves mixing spaghetti and nutella together, know about their existence, he might just love them!! (if he hasn’t already created them himself!)

    • carolille Says:

      Very soon you will be able to reach another weird sweet and savoury experience …
      surpriiiise !

    • thalounette Says:

      If you are going to Fauchon, buy one for me dear!
      Oh Léa you are kidding, aren’t you? Nutella and pastas?? How could he think about mixing those two ingredients? 😀

      • Léa Says:

        Well, that’s all he had left in his kitchen cupboard, spaghetti and nutella, and he was too lazy to go down and shop (no comment…) and he said to himself I like spaghetti, I love nutella, why wouldn’t I like them together, and now it’s one of his favourite dishes..! I didn’t try it out myself but I trust him!!
        PS One Fauchon hot dog for Thalie, one!

  9. thalounette Says:

    You have strange friends Léa 😀 Laziness can be a criterion or crucial factor to realize freestyle experiences: you have not enough ingredients to create a recipe in fact but you have the intention of having a decent meal, and you mix things that should not ‘be together’!
    We could have this hot dog – I confess I would love to try the one with Foie Gras – and write our comments on my blog when I am coming to Paris on the 18th? 😉

  10. kev1 Says:

    Gniiii, these Fauchon eclairs sound awful!!
    i was just checking out the internet for some cheesecake recipes and i found some weird stuff like that too; i don’t know about you guys but to me cheesecake is something good, right? providing you like it, i hear you, but i mean it’s usually made of nice ingredients (and by that i mean chocolate, vanilla, chocolate, strawberries, chocolate or chocolate :p)
    now, some people out there, for some reason, decided that this wasn’t enough and they ruined it all (the cheesecake spirit that is) by getting rid of all these lovely ingredients and replacing them with salmon, courgettes, pumpkins, goat cheese, tomatoes and so on…
    i don’t know why they keep on callin that “cheesecake” when really this has nothing to do with it anymore…
    anyway, these Fauchon eclairs do not seem to be “eclairs” either, that’s all i wanted to say :p

  11. kev1 Says:

    oh, and great article title by the way :p

  12. thalounette Says:

    Hey Kevin!
    I understand your point, and I guess you don’t like courgette & goat cheese cake either 😀
    It may sound crazy and inappropriate but we see that people like those weird associations of ingredients, and tastes are changing, they seem more opened and inclined to try new things!
    You never ate a piece of pumpkin cheesecake or a snake’s heart then? 😀
    Have you ever eaten something out of the common?

  13. Brian Says:

    Ok it’s lame to break the cheesecake spirit. C’mon it’s just something you don’t do. And Kevin’s right, why keep calling it “cheesecake”? It’s nothing but a kind of pie now.

    • kev1 Says:

      thank you people for understanding me :p
      i think brian’s right too, those “cheesecakes” are nothing more than plain pies now really… let’s just hope that this utmost nonsense won’t reach the Quiche level :$ oh lord, this will be a dreadful day…
      and next thing you know, people will be cooking cakes with candies in them :p
      this really is a sick world we live in :p

  14. thalounette Says:

    I am not a fan of cheesecakes like you are guys, and I love pies and quiches (yes, quiches are delicious Brian 😀 ) but it is true people are reinventing or modifying recipes – for example, putting sesame seeds in their dough (seen at Domino’s Pizza yesterday) – and sometimes they create weird things!
    I guess they didn’t find new names for those goat cheese and dried tomatoes ‘cheesecake’…
    I read an interesting story when visiting the Cluizel Factory in Normandy a few weeks ago: an apprentice was melting chocolate and, don’t ask me how, some cream felt into his chocolate. His boss saw it and called him ‘ganache’ (an insult at this period, meaning idiot), but when they both tasted the result of this clumsiness, it was so exquisite that they began to make it and called it ‘ganache’.
    Nice story, don’t you think? Anyway, my point is that by making mistakes in the kitchen or mixing new things together, people created and still create great recipes!
    Nevertheless, I agree with you that sometimes they should not be too adventurous 😀

  15. davelecteur Says:

    Wow you guys are amazing. This is one of the most vibrant blogs I’ve ever seen! Well done!!!
    Well as you know, I’m English… so… I eat Marmite!

    http://www.marmite.com/

    hahaha and the first thing you see if you go on this site, is that they admit that some people hate it. Their slogan is “Love it or hate it” – fair enough, I love it, and most of you will probably hate it! In fact I should bring it sometime to our oral expression sessions with some baguette and butter (it really has to go with butter). Most people who try marmite will maybe just dip their finger in the jar and take a big dollop in their mouth. Mistake!! I wouldn’t eat that much marmite at once! It’s something that you spread on bread, sure, but I would say that I “dab” it on the bread – in little patches, here and there. Otherwise it’s wayyyy too strong.
    In French you would say it’s salé. So it’s “savoury” (definitely not sweet). But apart from that, I don’t really know how to describe the flavour. It’s made from yeast, so it has a bitter tang a bit like a really strong beer, or the smell of bread dough when you have left it in the fridge for a few hours, before you cook it in the oven.
    What’s more, Marmite goes great with cheese! Take some butter, spread it on the bread, then Marmite. Grate some cheese on top and put it under the grill. It gives a sort of tang a bit like Worcestershire Sauce… only a bit more particular..!
    Does anyone else like Marmite??

  16. thalounette Says:

    Aaaaahhhh David you eat Marmite!! Léa do you eat Marmite – or perhaps the brand is different in Ireland? (Léa is my bestfriend and she is Irish)
    I will use your tip to try Marmite again, but I am not sure I will be able to swallow it 😀
    I brought back Vegemite from Australia and my mum eats it with a teaspoon gniii and she really likes the taste…But she does the same with molasses I brought back from USA… yuuuck!

  17. thalounette Says:

    Wooow, I was reading my Cosmo this morning and I know that red wine, white wine and rose wine exist… I even know about walnut wine, but I learnt that kiwi wine exists! People, kiwi wine 😀

  18. thalounette Says:

    I tried a Fauchon eclair!!! Thanks a lot Léa! People, read my article to know how it feels like!


Leave a Reply

