Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

November 12, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — franckgm @ 2:50 pm

KROY YAK KIN KHRAO TAM MAK HOUNG…

You want to give a bit of spice in your life?

You want to discover a Southeast asian country

I offer you to go in Laos and Thaïland by eating TAM MAK HOUNG or SOM TAM. (In english, papaya salad).

At first, as we are living in the north of the France, put your heating as warm as you can.

Secondly, wear thaï trousers and a docker (a « marcel » in french).

Then, buy all ingredients you need:

  • 1 green papaya
  • 1 lime
  • tomatoes ( cherry tomatoes are better)
  • thaï chili peppers
  • 2 carotts
  • pah dek (fish sauce)
  • nam pah (squid sauce)
  • garlic
  • glutamate
  • you can have dried shrimp, yard longbeans
  • and peanuts too.

recipe1

FOR TWO PEOPLE:

1 / Cut in two the papaya, you peel half of it and you grate it.

2 / Peel and grate two carotts.

3 / In a mortar, put chili peppers (as much as you want, but I think that 2 or 3 is enought), a clove of garlic and one little spoon of glutamate. Add some carotts and papaya and mix all together.

4 / Put all the papaya and carotts in the mortar, Press the lime into, add tomatoes, one spoon of squid sauce, 2 or 3 spoons of fish sauce and mix.

Do not hesitate to enjoy the dish and to add some more of the ingredients. (lime, pah dek,…)

recipe2

5 / If you want to cook like thaï people, you can add dried shrimp, peanuts and yard longbeans too.

6 / Eat this delicious meat with sticky or stime rice.

recipe3

 

15 Responses to “”

  1. Thalounette Says:

    YEAH!! You finally did it 🙂

  2. agathe02 Says:

    I was at first totally disconcerted with the tittle! but thanks for the nice travel you give us through this recipe. I’ll try it for sure!

    • franckgm Says:

      You’re wellcome Agathe. If you don’t want to cook, you can go to a good thaï restaurant called “Tiparo thaï” to test it. It is a little expensive but delicious. Try the “beef lap” too. I’m crazy about it!

  3. deb1708 Says:

    well done. Nice post. Sounds delicious.

  4. Thalounette Says:

    Love it Franck ! I think I will try this recipe later!
    I used to put soy sauce or oyster sauce on my steaks 😀

    (http://www.google.fr/search?sourceid=navclient&aq=0&oq=oyster+sa&hl=fr&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1T4GGLL_frFR347FR347&q=oyster+sauce)

  5. Thalounette Says:

    Where can you buy those sauces in Lille?

  6. davelecteur Says:

    Love it Franck. I’m gonna try make this sometime soon, but could somebody direct me to an oriental food shop to buy things like papaya / Pah Dek / Nam Pah? I could really use a hit of the ol’ Southeast Asian food!

    Here are a couple of English tips:
    – to go “to” – about 90% of the time, we go + “to” in English. Try to remember this
    – carrots
    – steamed rice

  7. thalounette Says:

    Franck,
    I asked some friends about ingredients to cook Asian food and they told me Le Minh, 112, rue Jules Guesde, are you going there?

  8. franckgm Says:

    sorry Thalie, I could’nt answer you soon. I’m going to Jules Guesde street but I don’t know the name of the shop.
    I buy green papaya in the shop in front of a pub and a fruits shop. You can find pah dek in the shop in front of “magenta-fonbelle district” near postes street at jules guesdes street too.

  9. franckgm Says:

    I learned monday afternoon that I wasn’t speaking english, but globish. I hope that you will understand this langage lite!

  10. thalounette Says:

    Franck > Thanks a lot, I went to the shop to talked about and bought many things to cook, and I will not forget to try your recipe!

    So you speak globish? Will we be able to understand you then? 😀

  11. kev1 Says:

    I diiiiid it!! I put everything you indicated Franck, except for the ‘thaï chili peppers’… My stomach like spices but cannot stand hot peppers or practically everything that could ‘torture’ it 😀


Leave a Reply

