Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Thalie’s Recipe November 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 5:04 pm

Dear friends, you were waiting for my feedback and here it is!

Last week, I was challenged by some friends to make an original cake. And I accomplished my duty. I will not forget to mention that my family helped me. Actually, we laughed a lot while going through the cupboards and drawers to find interesting ideas. However, we did not want the cake to be ‘ruined’, because even if the idea was to create a weird cake, we also wanted to eat something good!

Then, how to make a funny cake during a rainy October afternoon?

Here is my recipe to spend a nice moment:

250 g sugar

250 g flour

3 eggs

250ml Orangina

1 teaspoon baking soda

4 tablespoons oil

1 bag of Haribo World Mix (or other gummy and jelly sweets)

I am sorry to advertise but this brand really tempted me. I simply love the colours and shapes of those sweets.

ingredients

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour the pan of your choice. Using an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar in a bowl. Add Orangina, oil, flour and baking soda. Mix well after each addition. In a microwave-safe bowl, combine the different jelly sweets you chose. Heat in the microwave until the sweets melt.

magical element

boulgi boulga

Add it to the mixture and mix until well combined.

hard to mix and sticky

Spread into the pan and bake in the preheated oven for about 30 to 40 minutes. A wooden pick inserted in center should come out clean.

hop in the oven

Let the cake cool to room temperature in the pan. Run a spatula or sharp knife around the inside of the pan. Invert the cake onto a wire rack and decorate with the sweets you like.

end and decoration

For a moment, I felt as if I was a witch making a secret and dangerous recipe in her cauldron. And if you look at the mixture of melted sweets, I am not far from reality… I have a lot of other ideas to experiment! I do hope you want to make this cake now or perhaps create new recipes even more delicious…

Long live Haribo! Aren’t we saying ‘Haribo makes children happy – and adults too’ 😀

 

24 Responses to “Thalie’s Recipe”

  1. thalounette Says:

    This is my hand on the fourth picture, and the mixture was so sticky I was fighting with it 😀

  2. thalounette Says:

    And no this big, great, marvellous oven is not mine… 😦

  3. Youyou Says:

    I really enjoyed doing this cake though it was slimy and weird.

  4. thalounette Says:

    Thanks a lot again! Needless to precise that you decorated the cake 😀 We coul try something hot and salty next time!

  5. davelecteur Says:

    hot and salty huh? I think you mean savoury? hot and salty sounds a little… like an inuendo or something…

    it’s so cool you went ahead and made this cake! Youyou, did you make it too, or were you with Thalie to try this one?

    In English the Haribo expression is a bit different. If I remember correctly from the TV ads, it’s “Kids and grown-ups love it so, the happy world of Haribo”!!!

  6. Thalounette Says:

    I meant savoury yes! And tasty of course.
    This blog is a really good way to cook (I love cooking) and to make crazy cakes, to use imagination to have fun, and also write in English… I like it!
    Youyou helped me and decorated the cake 😀 He even took some of the pictures – for example when I had the mixer in one hand and the sticky mixture on the other hand 😀

    Do you like those sweets David?

  7. davelecteur Says:

    yeah Haribo is good stuff, my favourite are the tangfastics (the sour ones), tho I don’t know what they’d be like in a cake… a bit weird i suppose! though that is the idea, as far as I can tell!

  8. deb1708 Says:

    yummy!

  9. thalounette Says:

    Thank you, it could be interesting to cook 😀

  10. Often, I have no appetite, because I eat too much sweets.
    With this Thalie’s recipe I have a mean for eating more dieteticly. Thanks

  11. Thalounette Says:

    I’m not really sure that my cake is really good for you if you watch your weight (look at the ingredients closely 😀 )

    • franckgm Says:

      I would like to give you a recipe too, but I can’t put it on this f…… blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes I know, I’am bad as well in computing as in english…(Is this sentence ok???? I’m not sure…) David, I need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. davelecteur Says:

    What’s the problem Thalie!?!

  13. Thalounette Says:

    David, you should try to speak to Franck because he is the one who posted this last article, and he has been having big problems… In fact, he finally understood how to write an article and how to post it, but he spent those last two weeks trying to put some pictures in his article.
    I told him I could help him if he was really lost, and I think this time has come 😀

  14. davelecteur Says:

    Oh yeah… my mistake! Well can one of you help him maybe? Otherwise, Franck, you know when I’m in the CRL (Tues 10-11; Weds 10.30-11.30; Thurs 14.30-16.30) – This Thursday I don’t think there’s an expression session, so there’s plenty of opportunities to come see me this week.

    P.S. “I’am bad as well in computing as in english” is almost perfect!
    Try… “I am just as bad in computing as in English”

    … even though I don’t want to say that – it’s you who’s saying it not me!! I’m happy to help you with your blog Franck, do you have time to see me this week?

  15. davelecteur Says:

    Except I keep forgetting that Wednesday this week is a public holiday!! 🙂

  16. Thalounette Says:

    Yes tomorrow we will not able to see you David! But Franck told me this morning that he will see you on Thursday afternoon 🙂
    Caroline and I tried to help him but the distance is not helping and we couldn’t understand what he was doing wrong… (he said he is not able to put some pictures on our blog to illustrate his recipe…

  17. Thalounette Says:

    I’m sure that you will find the answer to Franck’s problem together!

  18. lydie Says:

    Hey nice !

    Isn’t it too sweet ? What about the texture once cooked ?

  19. Thalounette Says:

    Is Franck OK now?
    We are waiting for your article Franck! 😀

  20. Thalounette Says:

    Hey Lydie! I’m happy to see you reading our blog 😉
    This cake is not too sweet and you cannot really guess what are the ‘special’ ingredients in it… One friend told me he tasted an orange flavour, and actually there is 250ml of Orangina in it but the others never guessed!
    Anyway, the aspect is the one of a ‘normal’ cake, and seems chewy sometimes 😀

    I would say it is something to experience !

  21. thalounette Says:

    I’m happy that you want to try it 🙂

    Actually it is really different from recipes you can find in Reunion Island… There, they use vegetables to make cakes a lot. You can eat potato cake or corn cake for example 😀

  22. Thalounette Says:

    I guess nobody has time to prepare such a cake, we had so much ‘homeworks’ those last weeks… And most of my girl friends told me they are on a diet 😀
    Anyway, let me know and send me a picture if you are making this recipe!


Leave a Reply

