Food: freestyle experiences

A Blog about Food you truly want to read!

Sweet Little Things… October 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thalounette @ 2:18 pm

Didn’t I tell you I am more than motivated to create the weirdest and most delicious recipe tomorrow? I am invited to a birthday this week and my friends heard about the crazy blog Caro, Franck and I are writing. They challenged me to make a Freestyle Cake in fact. Don’t get me wrong, I love cooking, but every time, I was just reading the recipe and doing what it was telling me to do. I think it will be the first time I will try something funny – because I want the cake I will ‘create’ to be good. Don’t worry, you will be the first to have a feedback. It is interestingly challenging but will be worth doing! 

Anyway, I was surfing on the Web to find great ideas when I saw some extracts from a curious book. Indeed, it contains 125 recipes in which vegetables are turned into delicious deserts. At first, I thought the idea was not new, because everybody knows and has already tasted the divinely tasty carrot cake, but those ones were really different.

For example, Beetroot Cookies, Zucchini Bread or Red Beans Cake… The comments tend to say that the taste is intriguing but exquisite.

desserts légumes

The most intriguing recipe I saw was the Chocolate and Cucumber Cake! Let’s say I was really surprised! The author mixed those two ingredients – those are delicious when they are not cooked together by the way – and created a really good cake.

Speaking about challenge… I read all the comments you people wrote on the blog and I felt David challenged us with trying a gherkin with chocolate 😀 Well, I am not afraid of challenge and actually our blog will be a challenge about food, and challenging at the same time! Today, I tried it – I would say it was quite a taste experiment for me.

Gherkin

 

9 Responses to “Sweet Little Things…”

  1. carolille Says:

    So you did iiitttttt!!!!!
    YOU won!!!!
    Tell me: how was it?
    let’s do a VIP group: the-people-who-tried
    ….sh….t !
    I do not have any gherkin in my bridge……..yet

  2. carolille Says:

    ….fridge of course

  3. deb1708 Says:

    Wow! Was it tasty?

  4. Judumour Says:

    That sounds as weird as it sounds British to me! ahahaah
    We’re all looking forward to getting some feedback!! did your friends wish they’d never asked you to make a cake? I’m only joking… I guess I’m jealous I haven’t had the opportunity to try it… yet!
    Well done anyway Thalie! 🙂
    Juliette

  5. thalounette Says:

    Oh yes! We should create a private group, the one who were crazy enough to put some chocolate on a gherkin 😀
    Anyway the taste is just weird, I think my mouth never thought she would have to eat this combination one day…
    I’ll write tomorrow Juliette, don’t get impatient :p
    Nevertheless, I can give you a hint and tell you that my cake was good!

  6. davelecteur Says:

    you ate a chocolate gherkin! ewwwww! you can have your special club! i’m not so sure i’ll be joining 😛

  7. Thalounette Says:

    You have to join! Come on, be courageous 😀

  8. ihssene Says:

    hey girls!

    you are so crazy!! I love your idea… I knew that english people like very much special recept like spaghetti with chocolate. The exotics fruits, i know kind of them i find them very delicious. One day i tried to taste a lot things that i do not know. it was a great experience for me in the tasteland!!

    ihssene

  9. thalounette Says:

    Oh, thank you Ihssene! I’m not crazy, just challenging David’s blog project by incorparating it in my everyday life in fact 😉 and look now, when I cook or look at recipes on the internet, I’m always thinking about my blog, and when I speak with you, I ask you about your tastes and if you tried something weird 😀 Not crazy but really interested I would say!
    And I’m happy to see that after I spent many weeks badgering you to come and comment my blog, you finally came 😀


Leave a Reply

